Ken Driese’s “Skull Rim Rock”

KenDriese_DSC_5489_skull_rim_rock

 

I once camped on the Skull Rim in a thunderstorm, wondering if I would be able to drive out, but not really caring if I had to wait a few days for the mud to dry.  As the storm cleared, tendrils of mist rose up along the rim and revealed the unbroken landscape of that part of the Red Desert below me.  On another sunnier trip, my young daughter, wife, and I found turtle fossils scattered across the Honeycomb Buttes and searched for arrowheads around a spring below.  Some of my favorite photographs are of my family exploring Red Desert places that most people don’t know exist.  For me, the Red Desert has offered a chance to see what the West used to be like, and in my photographs, I try to capture small pieces of that view, along with some of the human pressures that are eroding it despite our best efforts.

Ken Driese

Laramie, WY

http://www.kendriesephoto.com

Leave a comment